Why I’m not dumping an ice bucket on my head for ALS #icebucketalternative

Namaste!
I am extremely glad for enlightening on ALS. I am posting this to tell people that Yoga and meditation are also a way to help, not just by donating money.

Debbie Philp

Stephen Hawking has ALS, and is an unusual case because he has lived much longer than expected. Stephen Hawking has ALS, and is an unusual case because he has lived much longer than expected.

Last weekend a friend nominated me on Facebook for the ALS Ice Bucket Challenge. It was bad timing, because I had an important commitment on Sunday. It’s also been really cold in Upstate New York, and the thought of taking off my sweater to dump ice water on my head doesn’t make me feel charitable.

In addition, I’m bothered by the way that the ALS Association turned a fun dare among pro athletes and celebrities into a guilt-trip fundraiser for more research by Big-Pharma, which continues to ignore possibility of environmental or food-based causes for diseases and fails to address alternative treatments. I cannot bring myself to donate the little extra money I have to a charity that does not align with my values.

That being said, I saw the effects of Amyotrophic lateral…

View original post 511 more words

2 comments

Leave a Reply

